Annals Poetry Prize

Annals of Internal Medicine is offering a $500 prize for the best poem published in Annals in 2015. The winning poem is selected by a panel led by Dr. Michael LaCombe and 2 to 3 external judges.

We look forward to receiving your poems.

Congratulations to Bonnie Salomon, MD, winner of the 2013 Annals Poetry Prize. Her poem "DLROW" was published in the 2 July 2013 issue (vol. 159, no. 1, page 69).

Dr. Salomon's poem was selected from poetry published in Annals in 2013 by our two judges: Daniel Bosch, poet, teacher, editor; and Abigail Zuger, who writes for the New York Times.

Dr. Bosch’s book Crucible was published by Other Press in 2002. His poems have been published in such journals as Poetry, Slate, The Times Literary Supplement, Agni, Berfrois, The New Republic, The Huffington Post, and The Paris Review. In 1998, Daniel was awarded the Boston Review Poetry Prize.

Dr. Zuger is an Associate Clinical Professor of Medicine at Einstein and an infectious disease expert. Her book Strong Shadows: Scenes from an Inner City AIDS Clinic was published by W.H. Freeman in 1995. She is a regular contributor to the Times.

Congratulations to our past winners:

2012: Daniela Matei, MD, "Bloom"
(published 21 August 2012 [vol. 157, no. 4, page 297])

2011: Daniel Bosch, "Agnosis: Cambridge"
(published 15 February 2011 [vol. 154, no. 4, page 226])

2010: Sarah Leeper, "What I Remember Most"
(published 5 January 2010 [vol. 152, no. 1, page 68])

2009: Beth Lown, MD, "Leylo and the Land Mine"
(published 7 July 2009 [vol. 151, issue 1, page 62])

2008: Bhuvana Chandra, MD, "Six Haiku"
(published 2 September 2008 [vol. 149, issue 5, page 367])

Forgot your password?
Enter your username and email address. We'll send you a reminder to the email address on record.